By Topic

A Novel Piezoelectric Based Wind Energy Harvester for Low-power Autonomous Wind Speed Sensor

Sign In

Cookies must be enabled to login.After enabling cookies , please use refresh or reload or ctrl+f5 on the browser for the login options.

Formats Non-Member Member
$33 $13
Learn how you can qualify for the best price for this item!
Become an IEEE Member or Subscribe to
IEEE Xplore for exclusive pricing!
close button

puzzle piece

IEEE membership options for an individual and IEEE Xplore subscriptions for an organization offer the most affordable access to essential journal articles, conference papers, standards, eBooks, and eLearning courses.

Learn more about:

IEEE membership

IEEE Xplore subscriptions

2 Author(s)
Y. K. Tan ; Student Member, IEEE ; S. K. Panda

In this paper, a novel method to harvest wind energy using PZT piezoelectric material for a low power autonomous wind speed sensor has been proposed. The conversion of wind energy into electrical energy is based on direct piezoelectric effect and utilizes the bimorph piezoelectric actuator. Combined with the wireless transmission, this technology provides a practical solution to meet the electrical energy supply need of remote sensors and communication devices. Energy harvested from the piezoelectric based wind harvester is first accumulated in a capacitor and when sufficient energy is harvested to power the wireless radio frequency (RF) transmitter, a trigger signal is initiated to release the stored energy in the capacitor to the RF transmitter. Experimental results obtained show that the harvested stored energy of 917 muJ is able to power the RF transmitter to transmit 5 digital words of 12-bit information during the transmission period of 100 msec. The proposed piezoelectric based wind energy harvester is used to detect wind speed beyond a certain threshold level in an early warning of storm detection system.

Published in:

Industrial Electronics Society, 2007. IECON 2007. 33rd Annual Conference of the IEEE

Date of Conference:

5-8 Nov. 2007