By Topic

Impedance extraction for 3-D structures with multiple dielectrics using preconditioned boundary element method

Sign In

Cookies must be enabled to login.After enabling cookies , please use refresh or reload or ctrl+f5 on the browser for the login options.

Formats Non-Member Member
$31 $13
Learn how you can qualify for the best price for this item!
Become an IEEE Member or Subscribe to
IEEE Xplore for exclusive pricing!
close button

puzzle piece

IEEE membership options for an individual and IEEE Xplore subscriptions for an organization offer the most affordable access to essential journal articles, conference papers, standards, eBooks, and eLearning courses.

Learn more about:

IEEE membership

IEEE Xplore subscriptions

4 Author(s)
Yang Yi ; Texas A&M Univ., College Station ; Peng Li ; Sarin, V. ; Weiping Shi

In this paper, we present the first BEM impedance extraction algorithm for multiple dielectrics. The effect of multiple dielectrics is significant and efficient modeling is challenging. However, previous BEM algorithms, including Fastlmp and EastPep, assume uniform dielectric, thus causing considerable errors. The new algorithm introduces a circuit formulation which makes it possible to utilizes either multilayer Green's function or equivalent charge method to extract impedance in multiple dielectrics. The novelty of the formulation is the reduction of the number of unknowns and the application of the hierarchical data structure. The hierarchical data structure permits efficient sparsification transformation and preconditioners to accelerate the linear equation solver. Experimental results demonstrate that the new algorithm is accurate and efficient. For uniform dielectric problems, the new algorithm is one magnitude faster than Fastlmp, while its results differ from Fastlmp within 2%. For multiple dielectrics problems, its relative error with respect to HFSS is below 3%.

Published in:

Computer-Aided Design, 2007. ICCAD 2007. IEEE/ACM International Conference on

Date of Conference:

4-8 Nov. 2007