By Topic

Selection of the Order of Autoregressive Models for Host Load Prediction in Grid

Sign In

Cookies must be enabled to login.After enabling cookies , please use refresh or reload or ctrl+f5 on the browser for the login options.

Formats Non-Member Member
$33 $13
Learn how you can qualify for the best price for this item!
Become an IEEE Member or Subscribe to
IEEE Xplore for exclusive pricing!
close button

puzzle piece

IEEE membership options for an individual and IEEE Xplore subscriptions for an organization offer the most affordable access to essential journal articles, conference papers, standards, eBooks, and eLearning courses.

Learn more about:

IEEE membership

IEEE Xplore subscriptions

5 Author(s)
Jiuyuan Huo ; Jiao tong University, China; Lanzhou University, China ; Liqun Liu ; Li Liu ; Yi Yang
more authors

For the heterogeneous and dynamic nature of grid environments, the ability to accurately and timely predict future capabilities of resources is very important. Autoregressive models are appropriate and much less expensive for predicting host load, but Autoregressive modeling includes a model identification procedure, that is, it is necessary to choose the order that best describes the host load variety. In this paper four of suggested criteria to determine the optimal order of AR models have been evaluated: The final prediction error (FPE), Akaike's information criterion (AIC), minimum description length (MDL) and the Bayesian information criterion (BIC). We evaluated these criteria on four of long, fine grain load traces from a variety of real machines, and our experimental results demonstrate that BIC criteria has the best determination of the optimal order than others and the optimal orders of AR models should be different in heterogeneous machines for load prediction.

Published in:

Software Engineering, Artificial Intelligence, Networking, and Parallel/Distributed Computing, 2007. SNPD 2007. Eighth ACIS International Conference on  (Volume:2 )

Date of Conference:

July 30 2007-Aug. 1 2007