By Topic

Exact Error Probability Analysis of Orthogonal Space-Time Block Codes with Arbitrary Rectangular QAM over MIMO Nakagami-m Fading Channels

Sign In

Cookies must be enabled to login.After enabling cookies , please use refresh or reload or ctrl+f5 on the browser for the login options.

Formats Non-Member Member
$31 $13
Learn how you can qualify for the best price for this item!
Become an IEEE Member or Subscribe to
IEEE Xplore for exclusive pricing!
close button

puzzle piece

IEEE membership options for an individual and IEEE Xplore subscriptions for an organization offer the most affordable access to essential journal articles, conference papers, standards, eBooks, and eLearning courses.

Learn more about:

IEEE membership

IEEE Xplore subscriptions

2 Author(s)
Maaref, A. ; INRS-EMT, Quebec Univ., Montreal, Que. ; Aissa, S.

In this work, we derive exact closed-form expressions for the average symbol error probability (SEP) of arbitrary rectangular quadrature amplitude modulation (QAM) when used along with orthogonal space-time block coding (OSTBC) over independent but not necessarily identically distributed multiple-input multiple-output (MIMO) Nakagami-m fading channels. The derived SEP expressions account for diversity branches which may exhibit identical or distinctive power levels while their associated Nakagami indexes can take arbitrary real values not less than 1/2. Our work extends previous results pertaining to the performance analysis of OSTBC using M-ary rectangular QAM over Rayleigh fading channels and M-ary square QAM over Nakagami-m fading channels. For a MIMO diversity system with nT transmit and nR receive antennas and a corresponding set of arbitrary real-valued Nakagami indexes, our rectangular QAM SEP results are expressed in terms of Lauricella's multivariate hypergeometric functions FD (L) and FD (L + 1) where L = nTnR is the total number of diversity branches.

Published in:

Wireless Communications and Networking Conference, 2007.WCNC 2007. IEEE

Date of Conference:

11-15 March 2007