By Topic

WSN02-5: A Power-Controlled Rate-Adaptive MAC Protocol to Support Differentiated Service in Wireless Ad Hoc Networks

Sign In

Cookies must be enabled to login.After enabling cookies , please use refresh or reload or ctrl+f5 on the browser for the login options.

Formats Non-Member Member
$31 $13
Learn how you can qualify for the best price for this item!
Become an IEEE Member or Subscribe to
IEEE Xplore for exclusive pricing!
close button

puzzle piece

IEEE membership options for an individual and IEEE Xplore subscriptions for an organization offer the most affordable access to essential journal articles, conference papers, standards, eBooks, and eLearning courses.

Learn more about:

IEEE membership

IEEE Xplore subscriptions

5 Author(s)
Maode Ma ; Sch. of Electr. & Electron. Eng., Nanyang Technol. Univ., Singapore ; Jialing Zheng ; Yan Zhang ; Zhenhai Shao
more authors

To provide differentiated service is one of important issues in the design of wireless ad hoc networks. Traditionally, the provisioning of the differentiated service to different types of traffic streams is mainly supported at the medium access control layer with strict priority scheduling or weighted priority scheduling. In this paper, we propose a novel solution, named as Power-Controlled Rate-Adaptive medium access control (PCRA-MAC) scheme, to provide differentiated service by cross-layer consideration and design. The PCRA-MAC scheme exploits the features of multi-rate and power adjustable wireless transceiver system to achieve different transmission rates to support differentiated service. To the best of our knowledge, the PCRA-MAC scheme is the first and the only MAC scheme that generates different transmission rates for different types of traffic by tuning transmission power. Simulation experiments have proved that the PCRA-MAC scheme can effectively supports differentiated service in the wireless ad hoc networks.

Published in:

Global Telecommunications Conference, 2006. GLOBECOM '06. IEEE

Date of Conference:

Nov. 27 2006-Dec. 1 2006