By Topic

Fast performance evaluation of fixed-point systems with un-smooth operators

Sign In

Cookies must be enabled to login.After enabling cookies , please use refresh or reload or ctrl+f5 on the browser for the login options.

Formats Non-Member Member
$33 $13
Learn how you can qualify for the best price for this item!
Become an IEEE Member or Subscribe to
IEEE Xplore for exclusive pricing!
close button

puzzle piece

IEEE membership options for an individual and IEEE Xplore subscriptions for an organization offer the most affordable access to essential journal articles, conference papers, standards, eBooks, and eLearning courses.

Learn more about:

IEEE membership

IEEE Xplore subscriptions

6 Author(s)
K. Parashar ; INRIA/IRISA, University of Rennes, 6 rue de Kerampont, F-22300 Lannion ; D. Menard ; R. Rocher ; O. Sentieys
more authors

Fixed-point refinement of signal processing systems is an essential step performed before implementation of any signal processing system. Existing analytical techniques to evaluate performance of fixed-point systems are not applicable to the errors due to quantization in the presence of un-smooth operators. Thus, it is inevitable to use simulation to evaluate performance of fixed-point systems in the presence un-smooth operators. This paper proposes a hybrid technique which can be used in place of pure simulation to accelerate the performance evaluation. The principle idea in the proposed hybrid approach is to selectively simulate parts of the system only when un-smooth errors occur but use analytical results otherwise. The acceleration thus obtained reduces the performance evaluation time which can be used to explore a wider word-length design space or speedup the optimization process. This method has been tried on a complex MIMO sphere decoding algorithm and the results obtained show several orders of magnitude improvement in terms of evaluation time.

Published in:

2010 IEEE/ACM International Conference on Computer-Aided Design (ICCAD)

Date of Conference:

7-11 Nov. 2010