By Topic

Massive underground HVDC transmission via elpipes: Implications for grid evolution

Sign In

Cookies must be enabled to login.After enabling cookies , please use refresh or reload or ctrl+f5 on the browser for the login options.

Formats Non-Member Member
$33 $13
Learn how you can qualify for the best price for this item!
Become an IEEE Member or Subscribe to
IEEE Xplore for exclusive pricing!
close button

puzzle piece

IEEE membership options for an individual and IEEE Xplore subscriptions for an organization offer the most affordable access to essential journal articles, conference papers, standards, eBooks, and eLearning courses.

Learn more about:

IEEE membership

IEEE Xplore subscriptions

2 Author(s)
Roger W. Faulkner ; Electric Pipeline Corporation, 15 West Main Street, Cambridge NY 12816, USA ; Ron Todd

Elpipes are polymer-insulated underground HVDC power lines that use relatively rigid extruded conductors designed for higher capacity and efficiency than is practical for overhead power lines. Elpipes can use far more conductor than cables, but also have more splices that an HVDC cable. The high efficiency of elpipes is motivated by the need to minimize heat dissipation while maintaining passive cooling. Minimizing waste heat production is critical since heat dissipation limits capacity. For a 325-800kV DC elpipe, we have selected a design basis of 1% loss per 1000 km, about three times better than an overhead 800kVDC line, and similar to “high temperature” superconducting (HTS) lines after accounting for the energy HTS lines consume for cryogenic cooling. This high efficiency could enable continental scale power transfers with acceptable loss, using fully buried aluminum elpipes carrying up to 12 GW. Surface mounted elpipes can deliver power up to at least 24 GW, whereas with internal cooling transfer capacities up to 200 GW are feasible.

Published in:

Innovative Technologies for an Efficient and Reliable Electricity Supply (CITRES), 2010 IEEE Conference on

Date of Conference:

27-29 Sept. 2010